A History of Wimbledon Tennis

      No Comments on A History of Wimbledon Tennis

Image result for tennis club

Wimbledon is currently the spiritual home of British tennis, hosting the nation’s flagship tournament. The tennis club itself, which has the Wimbledon Championships. is situated in Aorangi Park on Church Road Wimbledon in the ward of Merton, South West London and is regularly alluded to as The All England Club be that as it may, its full title is The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club alluding to its origins in the nineteenth century.

The Club was established in 1868 on Worple Road, Wimbledon as a private part’s croquet club. The All England Croquet Club, anyway was fast to add the burgeoning game of sphairistikè, or lawn tennis as it became known, to its activities in 1875, just a single year after being invented by Major Walter Clopton Wingfield, and in 1877 officially became known as The All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club. In fact, in 1882 the club quickly changed its name again to The All England Lawn Tennis Club in light of the dominance of the sport in its activities yet the notice of croquet was reinstated only six years later to mirror the club’s origins.

As a pioneer of the new sport the club took on the codifying of the game’s laws from the Marylebone Cricket Club (right up ’til the present time the guardians of the laws of cricket) for it’s first since forever tournament in the same year, 1877. The gentleman’s tournament of 22 players was won by Spencer Gore in what was also to be the first of many rain-delayed finals.

The site itself expanded significantly with new courts in 1980 and 1997 The All England Club uncovered another No. 1 court greatly boosting the tournament’s capacity to stay aware of its popularity. 2009 even saw the introduction of a retractable rooftop on the Center Court to keep out the perennial Wimbledon rain.

The Open era has seen just two British successes at Wimbledon in the singles with Ann Haydon Jones overcoming Billie Jean King in 1969 and Virginia Wade overcoming the chances to win before the Queen in her silver celebration year in 1977 – the last British success. In spite of the ongoing dearth of home developed winners the tournament has hurled probably the most memorable minutes in world tennis; greats, for example, Roger Federer, Pete Sampras, and Martina Navrátilová gracing the emptied turf and setting many records for the cutting edge era. 2000 saw Pete Sampras winning the last of his 7 titles to break the total grand slam record of 13, while Roger Federer has since equaled Björn Borg’s record of 5 Wimbledon in a column somewhere in the range of 2003 and 2007 to add to his new record of 16 grand slam titles.

The following two years will be probably the most celebrated in late history for the All England Club and the Wimbledon Championships. 2011 will introduce the 125th anniversary of the main tennis tournament, in 1877, and 2012 will see the club have the respect of providing a one of a kind setting for the tennis tournaments in the London Olympics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *